Posted by: dreymer | June 12, 2006

penang! (day 1)

this would be our fifth island trip together. it was an impromptu holiday sparked by elvin’s intention to head back to butterworth for the weekend. as usual, the opportunists decided to leave a day earlier and tumpang kereta elvin (hitch a ride) on the way back.

we took the 4:30pm bus on friday. after 5 hours, we arrived at sungai nibong bus terminal. hao han (hh) picked us up since we were staying a night at his bachelor pad. nice place! i even got to surf my site on his flat screen tv.


our first stop for the night — soho

soho penthouse

and it was the start of photo-taking frenzy night… 

it was f-crazy even in penang. clubs and bars set big screen tvs for the opening of WC. mad mad mad 🙂

 

there were bound to be a screen full of green and running men

our next stop was slippery senoritas that the local penangites nicknamed ‘ss’. we also have a branch at the curve but nothing compared to the one over here. this one was packed (with hokkien speaking cha bohs (ladies)).

slippery senoritas.. i didn’t see anything mexican!

i didn’t really like it that it was so cloudy and smoky inside. all the pics turned out foggy. grr!

a pincher 😀

did we?

yep, that’s pimp daddy…

 

a little crazier outside…

red-faced…

lucky hh!

we were already in penang but we have yet to taste the most talked about hokkien mee! we kl people call it ‘prawn mee’. these island people are so weird. haha i’m kidding.

the old green house has everything from hokkien mee to dimsum to bak kut teh

our non-local tour guide did an excellent job!

everything is so old in here like as if time stood still. just like that grrl in that 1980’s fashion windbreaker. i’m so mean.

hokkien mee with siew yoke (roasted pork), brown hard-boiled egg (!!) and lots of shrimp

it wasn’t bad. it wasn’t fantastic either. the soup was a little too sweet for our liking. maybe because it was already past 3am and we weren’t that hungry. perhaps this wasn’t the best hokkien mee on the island. i don’t know.

but what we did know is that penang still has alot to offer to these two kl-lites on a well-deserved break 🙂

to be continued…

Responses

  1. I hate you I hate you I hate you I hate you I hate you I hate you I hate you I hate you I hate you I hate you I hate you I hate you I hate you

    I guess I deserved this after the Krispy Kreme pictures..:/

  2. don’t be hatin’! 😀

  3. […] and we were back at soho! […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

