Posted by: dreymer | December 18, 2006

It’s Big, Wow and Flashy To Me

You know that it’s almost the end of the year when everyone flies off for their vacation. The Barkers are Downunder and the Missus is running loose with the kangaroos. Ms Wong is now probably walking on the streets of Tsim Sha Tsui and rushing with the locals during the Christmas shopping sale. And then there’s everyone else who would be counting down the days to return home and spend Christmas with their family and friends.

The year has passed rather quickly. I remember when it was just mere days from bidding farewell to 2005 when conversations were laced with resolutions for 2006 started popping up. “I wanna do this, I wanna do that…” Plans. Resolutions. Wishes. Dreams. The whole future thingamajig.

I asked Elv what he achieved this year and without hesitation, he gave me two challenges he overcame. I’m happy for him. Actually I thought he should have added the 20km marathon which he FINISHED (the point is he completed the race, it’s not about the time which was f*** slow – (personal joke)) but maybe he would have said that if we extended our conversation. 

After his answer, I kept thinking, “please don’t ask me back.. I wouldn’t know what to say!” But of course, as good listeners are, they return the question back to me. I was beginning to get worried that I might not be able to say anything. But after some thought, it wasn’t so hard. I did get what I wanted this year and I named my two biggest achievements for 2006.

The whole night I was thinking on that same question – actually, there shouldn’t be only two. I think I achieved aplenty. It wasn’t anything big, wow or flashy. It was more of an achievement on a personal level and to me, that’s something big, wow and somewhat flashy! You see, I had those huge plans for 2006 but the masterplan failed and crumbled. Instead of mourning and drowning myself in self-pity, I picked myself up, looked over my shoulder, dusted myself off from the shattered dreams and walked away. It was a huge relief. My heart felt lighter, stronger and most important were the genuine people surrounding me that made all the difference.

So the biggest achievement — it isn’t solely on a career level and that I got my cute, spanking red car but to get up every morning and know that you deserve more. I think it’s so often that most of us forget our self-worth (and then there’s so often most of us think too much about ourselves but that’s a whole separate issue).

In the end, we are the ones to decide if we want to make a heart crunching experience a positive or negative one. I made mine positive 🙂

Responses

  1. If you learn from it, then a heart crunching experience is definitely a positive one. Not during it of course but after. 😉

  2. Haha… sorry didn’t know that stupid question would keep you thinking so much. Well, don’t think too much. You might not notice all the little achievements you made everyday, and yeah, they might not be that big, wow, flashy achievements, but they all add up and become one big achievement – a better YOU, ready to face another year 🙂
    Oh, and thanks for the compliments of my running speed…

  3. *pat on your back* Great work, drey! Blessed Christmas & Happy New Year!

  4. It’s not easy turning a sad experience into something positive.

    Have a truly happy Christmas.

  5. mooiness: It applies to everything else, not just the heart crunching ones. Yeah, and I did mean if I get out of it and look at it in a positive manner. OI! See you Saturday.

    Penangkia:Thanks! Speed isn’t everything. So I guess, we’ll see you at the Great Eastern run?? Hee hee 🙂

    Vonne: Hey, have a great and enjoyable Christmas and New Year!

    anttyk: It isn’t easy. It’s always easier to just feel like shit forever but I didn’t want that. I don’t want to miss my opportunities. Life’s too short remember? Hey, you have a great Christmas too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

