Posted by: dreymer | January 17, 2007

Giving More, Taking Less

Adeline told me she didn’t like marine animals. It was kinda too bad since we were at the aquarium. However, I didn’t quite believe her. I could see the twinkle in her eyes as we pass the giant softshell leatherback turtle. Her enthusiasm and interests couldn’t fool anyone as she had plenty of questions about the varieties of fish. Her sporadic comments, “wow, very nice horrr….” and her hidden smile was sheer indication that she was enjoying herself. But of course, I didn’t want to spoil her parade.

We finished our tour in Aquaria and decided to backtrack just in case we missed out on something. Near the entrance of the underwater sea tunnel, she turned to me and asked how old I was. Like an insensitive moron, I asked her to guess! She thought about it for a while and asked if 27 was correct. I was amazed and I told her that she was absolutely right and that I’ll be turning 28 soon.

“Oh, that means you are older than me,” commented Adeline.

“You are? How old are you?”

“I’ll be 28 in June.”

“Haha.. hey, if that’s the case, you should be looking after me… not the other way around!”

The background: Tricia co-organized a charity volunteer do for the old folks at Grace Home and the orphans from Rumah Kids. We were in charge of the old folks and I actually had to take care of three ladies until another volunteer helped me out. I was with Adeline the whole time and after an exchange of questions, I found out that she helps out at Grace Home (no wonder she didn’t have any white hair!)  She is pleasant albeit shy. I enjoyed talking to her.

Here’s Adeline and I at the underwater tunnel

p5141155.JPG

p5141157.JPG 

I temporarily accompanied Sheryl’s popo (polite way to address an elderly lady) an inquisitive elderly lady in her 70s. She asked me questions about my family and me and I wished I was a better conversation partner if I wasn’t such a retard in Cantonese. According to Sheryl, every fish or animal that they passed by, the popo would say that she has either eaten, cooked or rared.

Tiny electric fish

Popo’s comment: “I ate that before”

Frog/Toad

Popo’s comment: “I ate this before too.”

Sea turtle

Popo’s comment: “This one cook in soup with herbs.. very good!”

Arowana

Popo’s comment: “Oh.. my brother rared before.”

She was tickling us funny without realizing it. 

dsc01099.JPG

Rumah K.I.D.S. After the accompanying the kids and elderlies at Aquaria, we headed to Rumah K.I.D.S for BBQ and Nasi Briyani lunch.

Pictures of the K.I.D.S.

dsc01124.JPG 

While the kids were competing with each other in a drawing contest, the others were in the living room karaoke-ing. And of course, there was a little dancing too…

dsc01114.JPG 

When the kids got back, we had a ball! I was showing the little ones some 50s dance moves (easy style mahhh..) and doing lotsa twirls and swirls. It was great fun. I was laughing like crazy. We were also singing Christmas carols in January. They loved it! I have to applaud their enthusiasm!

dsc01116.JPG  p5141172.JPG

I must have been craving to karaoke so I sang along with Nancy “Winter Wonderland” It’s my favourite Christmas carol. 

p5141171.JPG p5141173.JPG

I especially like their rendition of Feliz Navidad! Check out the ‘chicken’ dance and how they improvise the song: This is Kailing and hyperactive Punitha (she’s 10 yrs old)dsc01130.JPG

Yes, we’re so glad we did this! The kids were vibrant and full of personality; some didn’t have an ounce of shyness in them, others were a little more outspoken than some but I’m sure all of them had a great time.

————- 

Grace Homes and Rumah K.I.D.S. are located in Klang. If you need more info, please send me a message.

Responses

  1. The world needs more people like you. I’m serious.

  2. We didn’t do much but it is a start 🙂

  3. You didn’t need to do much; I’m sure your presence there already brightened their days. We also hope to do some of these with our baby when he gets older so the kid will know how blessed he is, and that above all, it’s always MORE blessed to give than to receive 🙂

  4. Fantastic job! When you told me what you were gonna do for the weekend, I was thrilled. Now I know who to ask when we need a helping hand when helping others is concerned. Good job drey! Now I’m sure you see life in a different perspective.


Leave a Reply

Categories

