Posted by: dreymer | March 15, 2007

The Zahir

 

Currently reading: The Zahir by Paulo Coelho

“….. Zahir, in Arabic, means visible, present, incapable of going unnoticed. It is someone or something which, once we have come into contact with them or it, gradually occupies our every thought, until we can think of nothing else. This can be considered either a state of holiness or of madness.” Faubourg Saint-Peres

“For a while, I’ll think obsessively about her, I’ll become embittered, I’ll bore my friends because all I ever talk about is my wife leaving me. I’ll try to justify what happened, spend days and nights reviewing every moment spent by her side, I’ll conclude that she was too hard on me, even though I always tried to do my best. I’ll find other women. When I walk down the street, I’ll keep seeing women who could be her. I’ll suffer day and night, night and day. This could take weeks, months, possibly a year or more.

Until one morning, I’ll wake up and find I’m thinking about something else, and then I’ll know the worst is over. My heart might be bruised, but it will recover, and become capable of seeing the beauty of life once more. It’s happened before, it will happen again, I’m sure. When someone leaves, it’s because someone else is about to arrive — I’ll find love again.” Paulo Coelho

Responses

  1. shit i typed such a nice comment but it got erased.

    to obsess is human nature. be it with a prada bag, an attractive man or a plate of nasi lemak. it premates your every thought,your every action. you taste it,smell it, hear it and sometimes even feel it.

    but it continues to elude you because it wasn’t yours to start with. i was never meant to have the steaming plate of nasi lemak to start with. and as cliche as it is, time heals everything,even 0bsession with nasi lemak.Everything happens for a reason…and you always lust for what you do not have

    kau yeh mou chut, san yeh mou yup.Paulo coelho must be chinese. we shall call him Koh Poh Loh

  2. hello!
    While surfing in the net I discovered your profile and I also love
    the work of Paulo Coelho!!!!I realy enjoy reading The Zahir! Great book!
    Do you know that he is launching his new
    book, The Witch of Portobello, through his blog
    http://www.paulocoelhoblog.com?
    I found it out because i’m inscibed to his newsletter
    http://www.warriorofthelight.com/engl/index.html
    it’s simply wonderful!
    have a nice day!

  3. sourrain: You are right, it heals over time. An obsession is temporary but only prolonged when there is no distraction or when you’re suffering from OCD. Koh poh loh?? Hahahaa.. that’s funny wei, the best part is I understood.

  4. you understood!!!Hahahhaah.I can also do translation in hokkien and mandarin if you didn’t

    Will get a koh poh loh book from the library this weekend.I love hicksville libraries.


Leave a Reply

Categories

