Posted by: dreymer | April 6, 2007

The elevator

I don’t like small talks with strangers while travelling in a lift/elevator. You can’t ignore or you can’t escape unless you step off to another floor. So, sometimes you have no choice but to acknowledge their presence in that confined box.

For instance, just the other day I met a guy who I believe was colour-blind.

I was heading down from the 19th when this guy enters at 17th. Usually, I would mind my own business and switch on the dreymer elevator mode i.e.

Step1:  Look up at the digital number screen as it moves from one floor to the other (3 seconds)

Step 2: Then stare blankly at the numbered buttons (5 seconds)

Step 3: Repeat step 1 and 2 until you reach your floor

Ok.. ok but that’s besides the point.

So this guy comes in and I sense he was looking at my direction (could be curious as to how I’ve timed myself to do Step 1 & 2 in such an accurate manner).

Colour blind guy: That’s a very nice combination (commenting on my office attire)

Dreymer: Oh. (got curious and started to look at what I pulled out this morning)

Colour blind guy: You know black top, black skirt…

Dreymer: But the skirt is grey (black and grey and this guy says thinks it’s good colour combination??? Isn’t that ORDINARY, MUNDANE and BORING?)

Colour blind guy: Yah but black skirt (still insists it’s BLACK), black top and gold hair…

Dreymer:  😐

OK… that’s it dude!!! You can comment that my skirt is BLACK when in fact it’s grey but saying that my hair is GOLD!?!??! Wahlauuuuuu that’s too much!!! Hahahaha!

Responses

  1. you sure he was talking to you??? or was there something else there… you know what chinese ppl do at this time of the year?

  2. i’m not crazy!

  3. It’s a ploy to get you to remember him. Next time you see him again, for sure you’d remember him. 🙂

  4. mooiness: could work both ways; either i remember or i’ll ignore him 🙂

  5. why you always make it so hard for the guys to pick you up…kesian only that poor color blind guy..maybe he likes gold hair…

  6. Ya lor…


Leave a Reply

Categories

