Posted by: dreymer | June 10, 2007

Going bananas (again!)

Speaking of crazy, it is not easy to multitask when you are experimenting a recipe for the first time and also acting as tech support to your father.

“Ok, so you right click there and press the CTRL key and then you start to highlight the icons.. wait wait, so it’s 125ml of buttermilk and how much is a pinch of salt??”

Althought there were constant distractions, it turned out well. Thanks to Bacon and his beautiful kitchen assistant, I finally found the banana bread/cake recipe that I’ve been looking for. Yippee! Thanks guys!

Before that, time to brag.. what do you think of my new kitchen tools? Think I’ll be using them for a while until I get bored of cakes.

 

Banana bread recipe

  •  210g plain flour
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1tsp sodium bicarbonate
  • pinch salt
  • 125g unsalted butter (melted)
  • 250g sugar (I modified the recipe and only used 150g)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 bananas (I used 6 rastali bananas)
  • 125ml buttermilk
  • Walnuts

The instructions to baking the banana bread is easy. Just dump everything into a mixing bowl, whisk and pour mixture to a loaf pan or cups. I did for both.

Flour and butter

 

Bananas clothed. Bananas naked.

 

Melted butter and eggs.. Mash banana with a fork and add it into mixture.

 

Bananas are nothing without nuts. Hmm.. that didn’t come out right, did it? I filled half the loaf pan with walnut halves because some prefer nut-less.

 

For the loaf, I baked the cake for 40 minutes at 170C . The top was golden brown but it wasn’t cooked inside. Since I had to let it sit in the oven for another 10 minutes or so, I covered the top with a piece of foil to avoid getting the surface burnt. It turned out exactly like how I wanted; soft and moist inside, a little crunchy on the outside.

 

I think if you omit the sugar, it’ll taste very much like bread. The sweetness of the cake will come naturally from the banana. Tip: Rastali bananas are perfect for cakes and they are pretty cheap too. I got a comb of 10 at Jusco for only RM 1.10!

Responses

  1. Wah lau come into the office, read your blog and I’m hungry again. Banana cake/bread is my all time fave. 🙂

  2. “Bananas are nothing without nuts.”

    LOL.

  3. Yummy tasting too!

  4. mooiness: oh really? then you should really try out this recipe. you will not be disappointed 😉
    anttyk: hee hee 🙂
    atti: tapau lor

  5. NICE HORRRR this recipie!!! I like I like too! Perfect crisp on the outside and super moistly sweet on the inside! How did the cupcakes turn out – as delicious as the loaf?

  6. Don’t worry, I’ll help myself tonight. Sourrain, anymore yummy recipes to pass to Drey since she’s on a row??

  7. I don’t have oven. Can someone make for me? I’ll buy the ingredients……anyone???

  8. mils: it’s very nice lor. the cupcakes were good too except that i think i should bake longer so that the top will be more brown. the inside was just as moist as the loaf. v good 🙂

    atti: wah, asking for free food ah!

    senhon: i don’t mind but i’m a little afraid about repeat performances. usually the second time around might turn out quite salah la.. wanna take the risk?

  9. atti2ude: Since you are pregnant, we must fufil your cravings! Tomorrow I shall send her a self-saucing choc cake recipie – prepare ramekin dishes and loads of cocoa powder. Best eaten with a dollop of cream.

    sh: Can you use the microwave oven?Does it have baking function? Otherwise, the Mrs Wong-in-waiting should be more than happy to bake for her brother in law in-waiting right?

  10. drey: I will gladly take the risk. can’t go wrong wat right? i be your first paying customer!

    mils: i have microwave oven but dunno how to use the bake function. actually, i dun even know if it has one. Well, its new and it’s not the 80’s anymore, so i think it should have right?

  11. drey, aren’t you a Wong as well? Mils, that would be wrong right? LOL

  12. sourrain: tsk tsk, using pregnancy as an excuse. anything with ramekins look complicated but the choc sounds evil. so pass it over.

    sh: if you are serious, you let me know this weekend ok?

    and… I am not a WONG.

    but two Wongs make a right.
    (ha ha)

  13. drey: I’m always serious when it comes to food. mmmmmmmm. So if you’re willing, I wanna put in an order for a banana walnut loaf. droolzz. can ah?

  14. sh: ok. ingredients about RM 10. labour RM 50. hee hee hee 😉

  15. why this dreyb so evil dont want to make for sh?

    dreyb: make la, then next time he bring u for free snorkelling and if its really really nice, he might even throw in a free introductory dive!

  16. mmmmmm……….yummy…

  17. […] famous banana cake. His recipie is also here, looks prettier in miniature as […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

